About the Foundation

The Medical Society of Northern Virginia Foundation is a 501(C)(3) philanthropic organization. Over the years, the Foundation has donated hundreds of thousands of dollars, raised primarily from its physician members, to charities involved with the provision of care to children; to send medical/surgical teams to hospitals in third world countries; and generally to support the northern Virginia community.

Mission Statement

The MSNVA Foundation is dedicated to the advancement of medicine and patient care, by promoting physician-led, community-based projects to improve public health.


MSNVA would like to thank SunTrust for its $10,000 contribution to support the MSNVA Foundation programs.


To financially assist deserving medical students enrolled in a Virginia medical school, the MSNVA Scholarship program was re-established in 2010, it’s supported by fund-raising events and general contributions from MSNVA members.  In 2011, the MSNVA Foundation rewarded its first scholarships.

2013 Scholarship Recipients

Erin Ebaugh - Rising fourth year medical student at the University of Virginia School of Medicine.  She is interested in pediatric medicine with a concentration in preventative medicine and anticipatory guidance.  She anticipates staying in an academic hospital setting to practice to continue teaching the next generation of medicine.

Christian Bergman - Rising fourth year medical student at Univeristy of Virginia School of Medicine. He is interested in internal medicine with a desire to practice primary care in Virginia. He lives in Charlottesville along wit his wife, Rebecca, and 2 month old son, Eric.

Previous Scholarship Recipients:

2012: Aparna Baheti, University of Virginia School of Medicine, and Richard Murray, University of Virgina School of Medicine 

To Apply
Applications for 2014 will be accepted starting January 1, 2014.  All applications are due by April 1, 2014.  Submit applications to Pej Bayzaee.